Go to Top

Board of Directors

From the Chair

Diverse, entrepreneurial and innovative are the defining characteristics of STC’s Board of Directors. Members of the Board are researchers, inventors, academics, administrators, business executives, lawyers and community leaders, with local, national and international ties. Our board guides STC in its mission to support the University of New Mexico and its partners as the source for innovation management and commercial development in six strategic areas of service to the University:

  • Compliance with the Bayh-Dole Act (IP prosecution, maintenance and commercialization)
  • Support for economic development (marketing/licensing/start-up companies)
  • Support of UNM faculty and staff commercialization (recruitment support, commercialization outreach education and faculty retention)
  • Academic impact through support for UNM research (CDAs, MTAs, IIAs and research agreements)
  • Academic impact through support for UNM education (student interns, outreach, Joseph L. Cecchi VentureLab)
  • Income generation from technology transfer

The STC Board of Directors deals with these strategic STC areas and applies specific expertise, drawn from our members’ backgrounds, as needed.

Sandra Begay
Chair, STC.UNM Board of Directors

Board Officers

sbegaycampbellMs. Sandra Begay
Chair, STC.UNM Board of Directors
Principal Member of the Technical Staff, Tribal Energy Program, Sandia National Laboratories


terri-coleMs. Terri L. Cole
Vice Chair, STC.UNM Board of Directors
President & CEO, Greater Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce


Dr. Joseph L. Cecchi
Vice Chair, STC.UNM Board of Directors
Dean Emeritus School of Engineering, UNM
Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering
jstichmanDr. John H. Stichman
Secretary and Treasurer, STC.UNM Board of Directors
Executive Vice President & Deputy Laboratory Director, Sandia National Laboratories, Retired


lkuuttilaMs. Elizabeth (Lisa) J. Kuuttila
CEO & Chief Economic Development Officer, STC



Board Members

coonrodDr. Julie A. Coonrod
Dean, Graduate Studies and Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, UNM


rfisherDr. Robert H. Fisher
Founder, Fisher Leadership Strategy Execution


Gene Gallegos (thumbnail)Mr. J.E. (Gene) Gallegos
President, Gallegos Law Firm, P. C



gibson-smMr. David W. Gibson
Director, California Site Operations, Sandia National Laboratories


mgriegorabyMs. Maria Griego-Raby
President, Principal, Contract Associates, Inc.


dharrisMr. David W. Harris
Executive Vice President for Administration, UNM
jkochMr. James H. Koch
President, Daniels Insurance, Retired
rlarsonDr. Richard S. Larson
Executive Vice Chancellor
Vice Chancellor for Research, Health Sciences Center, UNM
Terry LaudickMr. Terry Laudick
President and CEO, Nusenda Credit Union


Gabriel LopezDr.Gabriel P. Lopez
Vice President for Research, Professor, Department of Chemical & Biological Engineering, and Founding Director and Member, Center for Biomedical Engineering, The University of New Mexico


gmayerDr. Gregg L. Mayer
President, Gregg L. Mayer & Co., Inc.


cmcgillMs. Cindy McGill
CEO and Founder, McGill Executive Consulting LLC


r-nathMr. Robert Nath
Co-Founder and Chairman, Quasar International, Inc., Retired
Eric ProssnitzDr. Eric R. Prossnitz
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Molecular Medicine
University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center


romig (thumbnail)Dr. Alton D. Romig, Jr.
Executive Officer, National Academy of Engineering
prothDr. Paul B. Roth
Chancellor for Health Sciences, Health Sciences Center, UNM
Dean, School of Medicine, UNM


ksawyerMs. Kimberly C. Sawyer
Former Deputy Laboratories Director and Executive Vice President for Mission Support, Sandia National Laboratories


stokes-editedDr. Garnett S. Stokes
President, The University of New Mexico


stormont-johnDr. John C. Stormont
Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, The University of New Mexico


psuarezPedro F. Suarez, Esq.
Partner, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C.


gtonjesMr. Gary Tonjes
President, Albuquerque Economic Development, Inc.


Mr. Charles I. Wellborn
Former President, Science & Technology Corporation @ UNM, Retired
Craig G. WhiteDr. Craig G. White
Dean, Anderson School of Management, UNM
Professor, Department of Accounting, UNM


woodDr. Richard L. Wood
Interim Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
Professor, Department of Sociology
Director, Southwest Institute on Religion and Civil Society
The University of New Mexico